View this email .

Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association, Weekly News and Reflections

March 19, 2020

Melissa Carvill Ziemer, Director of Ministries for Collegial Care

Many Things Are Possible

 

Yesterday I had a plan. I worked so hard to follow the plan, then went to sleep exhausted. This morning I woke up knowing my plan is not sustainable. Even if it were sustainable, the headlines of the day reminded me that this is a time to hold any plan very lightly.

 

I thought of taking time to strategize with new knowledge and new circumstances, but decided to read some poetry instead. Wislawa Szymborska. She reminded me that there are many possibilities.

 

This is a hard time, there is no doubt. Life has changed dramatically for every single one of us. Fear and anxiety are intimate companions. Sorrow, anger and confusion are streaming worldwide. These things are already true. But Szymborksa reminded me we can hold multiple truths and that there are many possibilities.

 

It is possible we will find ways to keep blessing each other through the hard times. Creativity and courage are in abundant supply. Generosity is bubbling up everywhere and inspiring more generosity. Old truths are becoming new again as we remember the power of individual sacrifice for the common good. We are remembering that we are deeply interconnected, that we depend on one another for our very lives. It is possible we will remember these things for a long time to come.

 

Right now my children are planting seeds. Who knows what the summer will bring. Many things are possible.

 

Beloved, all in all, help us to have faith in life-giving possibilities. May we pay attention and give thanks for the good we find. And may we keep finding ways to give ourselves, sustainably, to the flourishing of the good.

 

Opportunities for Connection

 

For full descriptions of these events please . You can view our entire calendar .

 

Virtual Worship Support Call

Monday, March 23, at 3:00 ET/2:00 CT/1:00 MT/12:00 PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

Financial Support Call

Tuesday, March 24, 4:00 ET/3:00 CT/2:00 MT/1:00 PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

Pastoral Support for Ministers Who Live Alone

Tuesday, March 24, at 5pm ET/ 4pm CT/ 3pm MT/ 2pm PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

Drop-in Pastoral Support Call for Chaplains

Tuesdays at 8pm ET starting on March 24, for the next six weeks. to register and get the link. (When you register, you are not committing to attend the calls, but rather indicating your interest to attend as you wish and as your time and energy allow).

 

Leaning into Ritual: Pastoral Support Call

Wednesday, March 25, at 3pm ET/2pm CT/1pm MT/noon PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

Making Meaning in time of Pandemic

Wednesday, March 25, at 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

Open Check-in Gathering

Thursday, March 26, at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/ 5pm PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

Virtual Office Support Call for all Religious Professionals

Thursday, March 26, at 4:00 ET/ 3:00 CT/ 2:00 MT/ 1:00 PT. to register and receive zoom information.

 

BIPOC Member Support Call

Friday, March 27, at 4:00 ET/ 3:00 CT/ 2:00 MT/ 1:00 PT. to register and receive zoom information.

UUMA Nominations and Process

The Nominating Committee Submits the following Candidates for election at the June 2020 UUMA Annual Meeting:

 

Board: Treasurer: Rev. Carol T. Cissel

Board: Trustee, Anti-racism/Anti-Oppression/Multiculturalism: Rev. Natalie Fenimore

Board: Trustee, Governance: Rev. Theresa Inés Soto

Nominating Committee (2): Rev. Amy DeBeck, Rev. Amy Williams Clark

 

From the UUMA Bylaws: ARTICLE XI ‐ NOMINATING COMMITTEE AND ELECTIONS

Section 5: All nominations of the Nominating Committee shall be submitted to the President at least 90 days prior to the date of the membership meeting. At least 75 days prior to the membership meeting, the President shall submit the names of all nominees to the membership, along with the bylaw provisions for nomination by petition.

 

Section 6: Nominations by petitions shall be made by a signed petition of ten or more voting members. Petitions shall indicate the office sought and must be submitted to the President not less than 45 days prior to the annual meeting, along with indication by the candidate of his/her willingness to accept the nomination.

 

For more information on the folks who have been nominated, please .

 

In faith,

 

Amy Zucker Morgenstern

 

for the UUMA Nominating Committee:

Paul Boothby

Amy Kulesza DeBeck

Amy Zucker Morgenstern, chair

Elaine Peresluha

Bill Sinkford

()

 

 

Be in Touch!

 

Please share your questions,

feedback, and ideas!

 

Thank you for your service in the world

and for your commitment and passion

for ministry.

 

617-848-0498

 

Follow us on:

facebook
twitter
instagram
youtube


Director of Ministries for Collegial Care

 


Director of Ministries for Lifelong Learning

 


Director of Operations

 

Melissa, Darrick, and Janette

 


Administrator

 

Intern

 

Education Program Assistant

 


Collegiality Program Assistant

 

Did you miss a previous issue? Our goal this year is to provide

shorter, more frequent updates. If you missed one,

 

here.