Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Join
UUMA Governance

From the UUMA Bylaws:


Section 1: The officers shall be a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and six Executive Committee Members-at-Large.

Section 2: Members at large shall include portfolio-holders responsible for Professional Development; Good Offices; Communications; Anti-Racism, Anti-Oppression, and Multiculturalism; Chapter Visits; and Arrangements.

Section 3: The President, or a person designated by the President, shall preside at all sessions of the UUMA. The President shall be charged with the upholding of the Constitution and Bylaws, Code of Professional Practice, and general policies of the UUMA. The President shall be the chief executive officer of the UUMA and responsible for the administrative supervision of the various offices and paid employees of the UUMA. Within the policies set by the membership and Executive Committee, the President shall be responsible for the continuing operations of the UUMA.

Section 4: The Vice-President and Secretary and Treasurer shall perform the functions inherent in their titles.

Section 5: The President-Designate:

A. In every third year beginning in 1997, a President-Designate shall be elected for a one-year term. Such President-Designate shall be automatically nominated the following year for the three-year term of President. Petition candidates may run against the President-Designate or the same person when he/she is nominated the following year for President. The President-Designate shall be a voting member of the Executive Committee.

B. The President-Designate, when such office is filled, shall work closely with the President to learn the duties, functions, and current efforts of the presidency. The President shall endeavor to keep the President-Designate informed of the ongoing work of the UUMA. The President-Designate is charged during his/her term to learn about the presidential duties, rather than to function in a separate policy role.

Section 5: In the event of a vacancy in any elective office of the UUMA, the Executive Committee shall fill the vacancy until the next regular election for that office.


Section 1: The Board of Trustees of the UUMA shall be the same as the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee shall consist of the four Officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer), six Members-at-Large, and the President-Designate when such office is filled.

Section 2: The Executive Committee shall conduct the work of the UUMA between membership meetings. The Executive Committee shall have responsibility for carrying on the general purposes and functions of the UUMA. The Executive Committee shall meet at least three times a year. Should it meet less often, it shall ask the next membership meeting for ratification of its policy of meeting less often.

Section 3: Six members of the Executive Committee shall constitute a quorum for the conduct of business.

Section 4: The Executive Committee or any group designated by it may review decisions and policies of the Unitarian Universalist Association and its agents and make appropriate recommendations. The Executive Committee has the authority to speak for the members of the UUMA. The Executive Committee at its discretion may bring a position it has taken on a UUA decision or policy to the annual membership meeting for direct endorsement.


Standing Committees of the UUMA include Professional Development; Guidelines; Anti-Racism, Anti-Oppression, and Multiculturalism; and Ethics and Collegiality. The Executive Committee shall appoint Standing Committees. The Executive Committee may set up or abolish such temporary committees as may be necessary from time to time except for those specified in these bylaws.

Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association, 24 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1409
© 2016 Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association.