Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Join
May Chapter Meeting
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

At Follen Community Church in Lexington.

5/13/2015
When: 5/13/2015
9:30 AM
Where: Follen Community Church
755 Massachusetts Ave
Lexington, Massachusetts 
United States

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Our final chapter meeting before the summer is coming up on Wednesday, May 13th, beginning at 9:30 am. We will be hosted once again by the Follen Community Church in Lexington - 755 Massachusetts Ave.

The Reverend David Helfer, Assistant Minister with UU Society of Wellesley Hills, will be our worship leader. Our presenter will be the Reverend Nate Walker, who sends us this about his program:

In his new book, Exorcising Preaching: Crafting Intellectually Honest Worship (Chalice Press 2014) Nate Walker, delivers an urgent call to expel unhealthy practices from worship, liberating the preacher and the people. In this interactive workshop, Nate invites colleagues to replace harmful ministerial habits with healing disciplines that reawaken the craft of communal worship. When endorsing this book, the Rev. Dr. Rob Hardies said, “In the tradition of Emerson’s Divinity School Address, Nate Walker’sExorcising Preaching is an urgent manifesto, a passionate call for preachers to rid themselves of cant, cliché, complacency, and all that separates them from their audience (the congregation) and their subject (the Sacred).”

As has been our custom for several of our previous mid-spring meetings, you are invited to bring 60 copies of up to 3 favorite liturgical pieces (yours or someone else's, no more than 1 page total, front and back). There will be an opportunity to "swap" and share our best resources during the day (you may also wish to mark the use you recommend the resource for - opening words, benediction, etc.) Or, if you would prefer to avoid the photocopying, Meg Soens has volunteered to compile your contributions. You may send pdfs to her at mmjsoens@yahoo.com before May 13, and she will assemble the collection and send it out to the membership after our meeting.

 

Our schedule for the day will be as follows:

9:30 – 10 Coffee and conversation

10 – 10:45 Worship

10:45- 11 Announcements - Tim Kutzmark

11- 12:30 Exorcising Preaching with Nate Walker (Part I)
  
12:30 – 1:30 Lunch

1:30 - 2:45  Exorcising Preaching with Nate Walker (Part II)

2:45-3 pm Closing

Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association, 24 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1409
© 2016 Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association.